On the traces of a fortress - Guided tourLycées
After the conquest of the city of Luxembourg by the French in 1684, the reinforcement of the fortress was ordered by Louis XIV and carried out according to the plans of the engineer Vauban. When the Austrians took possession of the fortress in 1716, the crownwork was renamed Fort Niedergrünewald and the hornwork was renamed Fort Obergrünewald. In 1732/33 the Austrians built Fort Thüngen on the site of the Parc redoubt.
The four forts at Kirchberg are Fort Obergrünewald, Fort Thüngen, Fort Niedergrünewald and Fort Olizy. In contrast to the first three, Fort Olizy is the only one of which only the underground galleries are preserved.
The guided tour of the surroundings of Fort Thüngen allows high school students to experience the history of the city of Luxembourg and to familiarize themselves with the historical heritage that constitutes the identity of our country.