Musée Dräi Eechelen Fortress, History, Identities

An exceptional historical building, the restored keep of fort Thüngen, built in 1732-33, houses the Museum Dräi Eechelen since 2012.

In the permanent exhibition, each casemate illustrates a period of the fortress’ past, focussing in particular on its links to the history of the country. The tour begins towards the end of the Middle Ages with the capture of the town by the Burgundians in 1443 and ends with the construction of the Adolphe Bridge in 1903. Throughout the visit, 600 original objects and documents, most of which have never been exhibited, indicate the richness of the collections. In a  particular room historical photographs of the city and the fortress can be seen.

 

The architectural complex of the historical keep constitutes in itself the principal object of the exhibition. With its spectacular system of underground galleries and mines, it has largely been retained in the state of its last construction phase of 1836/1837.

 

A multimedia area invites visitors to consult an interactive database as well as audiovisual documentation that recapture the topics discussed in the museum. Additionally, free audio guides in German, French, English or Luxembourgish are available to the public and provide detailed explanations for a selection of objects.

 

The auditorium is availablefor conferences or audiovisual projections.. The first floor is assigned to temporary exhibitions.

Musée Dräi Eechelen Forteresse, Histoire, Identités

Bâtiment historique d'exception, le réduit restauré du fort Thüngen, construit en 1732-33, abrite depuis 2012 le Musée Dräi Eechelen.

Dans l'exposition permanente, chaque casemate illustre une période du passé de la forteresse, notamment à travers ses liens avec l'histoire du Luxembourg. Le parcours débute au Moyen Âge avec la prise de la ville par les Bourguignons en 1443 et s'achève par la construction du Pont Adolphe en 1903. Tout au long de la visite, les quelque 600 objets et documents originaux, souvent inédits, témoignent de la richesse des collections. Une salle spécialement aménagée abrite des photographies historiques documentant la forteresse avant et pendant son démantèlement.

Le complexe architectural du réduit historique constitue en soi le principal objet d'exposition. Avec son spectaculaire système de galeries souterraines et de mines, il est conservé en grande partie dans l'état de sa dernière phase de construction, en 1836/37.

Un espace multimédia invite le visiteur à consulter une base de données interactive ainsi que des documentations audiovisuelles reprenant des sujets abordés dans le musée. Des audioguides en allemand, français, anglais ou en luxembourgeois fournissant des explications détaillées pour une sélection d'objets sont gratuitement à la disposition du public.

Un auditorium prête régulièrement son cadre à des conférences ou projections audiovisuelles en lien avec le programme. Le premier étage est quant à lui dévolu aux expositions temporaires.