Musée Dräi Eechelen Fortress, History, Identities

An exceptional historical building, the restored keep of fort Thüngen, built in 1732-33, houses the Museum Dräi Eechelen since 2012.

In the permanent exhibition, each casemate illustrates a period of the fortress’ past, focussing in particular on its links to the history of the country. The tour begins towards the end of the Middle Ages with the capture of the town by the Burgundians in 1443 and ends with the construction of the Adolphe Bridge in 1903. Throughout the visit, 600 original objects and documents, most of which have never been exhibited, indicate the richness of the collections. In a  particular room historical photographs of the city and the fortress can be seen.

 

The architectural complex of the historical keep constitutes in itself the principal object of the exhibition. With its spectacular system of underground galleries and mines, it has largely been retained in the state of its last construction phase of 1836/1837.

 

A multimedia area invites visitors to consult an interactive database as well as audiovisual documentation that recapture the topics discussed in the museum. Additionally, free audio guides in German, French, English or Luxembourgish are available to the public and provide detailed explanations for a selection of objects.

 

The auditorium is availablefor conferences or audiovisual projections.. The first floor is assigned to temporary exhibitions.

Musée Dräi Eechelen Festung, Geschichte, Identitäten

Das restaurierte Reduit des Fort Thüngen ist ein außergewöhnliches historisches Gebäude. 1732-33 errichtet, beherbergt es seit 2012 das Museum Dräi Eechelen.

Jede Kasematte der Dauerausstellung veranschaulicht jeweils eine Zeitspanne aus der Vergangenheit der Festung, und ihren Einfluss auf die  luxemburgische Geschichte. Beginnend im späten  Mittelalter mit der Einnahme der Stadt durch die Burgunder 1443, an endet der Rundgang 1903 mit dem Bau der Adolphe-Brücke. 600, zum größten Teil noch nie ausgestellte Objekte und Originaldokumente, waren, illustrieren den Reichtum der Sammlungen. In einem eigens eingerichteter Raum werden historische Fotografien der Stadt und Festung gezeigt.

 

Die Architektur des historischen Reduits ist an sich das wichtigste Ausstellungsobjekt. Mit seinen spektakulären unterirdischen Gängen und Minen ist es größtenteils im Zustand seiner letzten Bauphase von 1836/37 erhalten.

 

Der Multimediabereich lädt den Besucher ein, die audiovisuellen Dokumentationen sowie die interaktive Datenbank zu erforschen. Die kostenlos erhältlichen Audioguides auf Deutsch, Französisch, Englisch oder Luxemburgisch bieten detaillierte Erklärungen zu ausgewählten Objekten an.

 

Das Auditorium stellt seine Räumlichkeiten für Konferenzen oder audiovisuelle Projekte zur Verfügung.. Auf der ersten Etage finden Zeitausstellungen statt.